You are here

Lesson 4-2: Four Stages of the Nephite Prophetic View

TitleLesson 4-2: Four Stages of the Nephite Prophetic View
Publication TypeChart
Year of Publication2023
AuthorsWelch, John W., Greg Welch, and Jasmin Gimenez Rappleye
PublisherScripture Central
CitySpringville, UT
KeywordsGathering of Israel; Gentiles; Isaiah (Book); Jesus Chris, Prophecies about; Nephi's Vision; Scattering of Israel

Nephi's writings in 1 Nephi 11–14 establish four basic elements that to some extent represent Nephite prophecy in general. These four elements, or stages of history, concern the coming of Jesus Christ, his rejection and the scattering of the Jews, the day of the Gentiles, and the restoration of Israel and ultimate victory of good over evil. Viewing some of Nephi’s quotations of Isaiah (1 Nephi 19–22) in this context can help readers better understand the meaning and importance of Isaiah's writings.

Originally published as Chart 7-99 in Welch, John W., and Greg Welch. Four Stages of the Nephite Prophetic View. Provo, UT: Foundation for Ancient Research and Mormon Studies, 1999.


Table of Contents